Adams awarded Copeland Trophy

Collingwood vice-captain Taylor Adams has capped a stellar 2020 season, claiming his first Copeland Trophy today.

The midfielder didn’t miss a match in 2020 and received 100 votes to take out the club’s best and fairest, polling in all but three matches of the home and away season and finals.

Having earned his debut All Australian selection in 2020, Adams averaged 5.2 clearances, 5.5 tackles and kicked nine goals across the season, also earning him the Gavin Brown Award for pressure.

Captain Scott Pendlebury received the R.T. Rush Trophy for finishing second with 71 votes. Pendlebury has now polled in the top three of the Copeland count in the last 12 of his 15 seasons with the club, the skipper also overtaking Tony Shaw’s club games record (313) and Nathan Buckley’s club captaincy record (161) in 2020.

Rounding out the top five were defenders Jack Crisp (63), Darcy Moore (62) and Brayden Maynard (59).

Brody Mihocek was another dual-award winner, taking home the Bob Rose Award for player of the finals alongside his second consecutive Gordon Coventry Award as the club’s leading goal kicker, booting 25 goals for the season.

Vice-captain Jeremy Howe received acknowledgement for his off-field contribution receiving the Darren Millane Perpetual Memorial Trophy for best clubman despite a season ending injury in Round 4.

2020 E.W. Copeland Trophy top 10
1. Taylor Adams 100 votes (E.W. Copeland trophy)
2. Scott Pendlebury 71 votes (R.T. Rush trophy)
3. Jack Crisp 63 votes (J.J. Royce trophy)
4. Darcy Moore 62 votes (J.F. McHale trophy)
5. Brayden Maynard 59 votes (Jack Regan trophy)
6. Josh Daicos 50 votes
7. Jamie Elliott 47 votes
7. Brodie Grundy 47 votes
8. Brody Mihocek 46 votes
8. John Noble 46 votes

Gavin Brown Award (pressure): Taylor Adams

Bob Rose Award (player of the finals): Brody Mihocek

Gordon Coventry Award (leading goal-kicker): Brody Mihocek (25)

Harry Collier Trophy (best young player): Isaac Quaynor

Darren Millane Perpetual Memorial Trophy (best clubman): Jeremy Howe

Joseph Wren Award (best VFL player): Nathan Murphy